Read and write Mac formatted HFS drives in Windows

Who would have thought that Apple and PC incompatibilities would be a problem in 2013?! Blimey Charlie, really? Microsoft and Apple, get over yourselves and build read / write abilities for all hard drive formats into your operating systems.

 

Our editing team is wrangling problems with FAT32, NTFS and HFS+ and in the process, moving huge amounts of data around, wasting valuable time.

When both Microsoft and Apple sit on mountains of cash as big as they do, the ONLY reason they don’t build in drive compatibility is to force us, the users, to choose one or the other by locking us into one system and out of another. Grrrrr!

 

We have found an excellent solution however, Paragon HFS+ for Windows - a cheap PC utility that will happily read and write Apple formatted HFS+ drives on a PC. Now all our 50 Kisses drives are Mac formatted for editing in Avid and on PC. Go figure.

 

Chris Jones

Comments: 3 (Discussion closed)
  • #1

    Rick Skyler (Friday, 11 January 2013 18:50)

    I would suggest exFAT. Similar to FAT32, but more reliable. Most of my drives are formatted since I work on both platforms.

  • #2

    Tyrren Digger (Sunday, 14 July 2013 22:10)

    HFSExplorer does not work for me : ( So I bought the Paragon HFS+ for Windowshttp://www.paragon-software.com/home/hfs-windows/. And I do not regret having paid - but it quickly and reliably

  • #3

    Mike Jour (Sunday, 14 July 2013 22:11)

    Hi! I also had troubles using HFS+ files on my Windows 7. And Paragon HFS+ for Windows helped me! Realy great driver. I have no troubles now!