50 Kisses has all been about “Taking Chances”

The making of 50 Kisses has been a long road. We’ve learned a lot as we have travelled from script competition, to film competition to post production. One of the things we have been pleasantly surprised by is the amount of engagement and affection for the project that even those who didn’t make it into the last 50 scripts have. Take Elena Dapelo for example. Elena’s script “Taking Chances” made the last 100 but didn’t get into the top 50 but it spurred her on to make the film herself. Brilliant. So, I present to you – a 50 Kisses Near Kiss, called “Taking Chances”

Taking Chances: My Creative Journey From Acting And Writing To Directing

 

I think it’s quite appropriate that the first project I ever attempted as a director/producer was called Taking Chances. I am a trained actress and writer who developed an appetite for directing but hesitate to take the plunge. Not making into the final 50 was a sort of a blessing in disguise. It gave me the extra motivational push I needed to make my own short. At the same time, being shortlisted into the final 100 increased my confidence in my writing skills and added credibility to the project.

 

As a writer/performer, I was keen on acting as well as directing but would also have to contend with the extra challenge of taking care of most of the producing duties. My budget was very limited, and I had a lot on the plate for a newcomer. It was important to keep it simple: a two-hander script, two pages, one location. It was the perfect way to taste the water.

A lesson I have learned from 50 kisses is to be more pro-active in putting my work out there. It’s amazing the response you can get. Once I set on a date for the shooting, everything fell into place really quickly. Crew and location were sorted out first. I contacted a few people I was keen to get involved and they came on board as soon as told them about the project. All I needed was an actor for the male lead role.

I embraced the casting process reluctantly, not knowing what to expect. When the script and the casting breakdown started to circulate the response was again great - and I was spoilt for choice! I was absolutely blessed in finding Tim- his experience and knowledge brought a lot of added value to the project -but I also got to meet some very talented actors I hope I’ll have a chance to work with in the future.

The short was shot in a day- a Saturday in late September. We were incredibly lucky with the weather: most of the shots were exteriors and it turned out later on that I picked the last day of summer. My plan was to go for an early start to make the most of the daylight and allow for plenty of extra time in building up my schedule- taking into account my doubling up as director and lead actress. I set up for catering the day before and delegated the on-set production duties as much as I could. And extra time was crucial:  all that could go wrong did- noisy neighbourhood, a big van parking just in front of the location casting a huge shadow, essential props breaking- despite being tested in advance!  Throwing acting –and producing- into the mix more than doubled up the pressure but it also doubled up the satisfaction when it all worked out in the end.

Having to switch my creative prospective from writer, to actress, to producer and director allowed me to see my writing with a different eye. For me it meant venturing in territories that were rather unfamiliar to rediscover the storytelling process from yet another point of view.

It definitely made an otherwise small scale project quite challenging, but at the same time all the more rewarding. So much that it prompted me to raise the stakes and do it again, this time with a ten pages short, which is now in post-production.

Making a Near Kiss has definitely been a massive learning experience I will treasure. I am very happy to be given the chance to share the final result with all the people that were involved in the 50 kisses project. I hope they will enjoy watching it as much as I enjoyed making it!

 

Elena Dapelo

Comments: 14 (Discussion closed)
  • #1

    Tim Pieraccini (Friday, 08 March 2013 12:10)

    What a great first film! Loved the way the title comes in, and his feet stretching up for the kiss - and the last line. And the closing credits shot. Well done indeed.

  • #2

    Elena Dapelo (Friday, 08 March 2013 13:03)

    Many thanks Tim. Really appreciated. It's great to start with such a positive feedback.
    And thanks to Gail and the team for the lovely words of presentation.

  • #3

    francesca (Friday, 08 March 2013 13:04)

    Well done, I really loved the film and your writing about this experience. I'd want to read the script, but I didn't find it in the list. And I'd aldo like to share opinions and tips about this and other projects. Hope we'll find the way to get in touch.

  • #4

    Roger B (Friday, 08 March 2013 13:47)

    Loved it. Keep up the good work. I'm always looking for material to direct so if you have more where this came from and wouldn't mind others directing your screenplay please let me know. Thanks

  • #5

    Phil (Friday, 08 March 2013 13:53)

    Congratulations, Elena - a very nicely produced film (photography, editing, music, perfomances).

    One little qualm I had with the script: wouldn't she have noticed the tabaco on his mouth and breath as they kiss?

    (I'm plagued by this kind of nit-picking, but I can't help it.)

  • #6

    Elena Dapelo (Friday, 08 March 2013 14:46)

    Thanks to everyone for their kind comments.

    To Francesca and Roger- and anyone else who may want to get in touch- I am working on a couple of other similar projects and I would love to get in touch to discuss possible collaborations and to exchange tips and feedback.
    Feel free to send me an email at elena.dapelo@yahoo.com

    The script was posted in the Near Kisses session a while ago, but if you can't find it there I am more than happy to email you a copy.

  • #7

    Elena Dapelo (Friday, 08 March 2013 14:58)

    Phil, it's a very fair comment.

    We did discuss this point in pre-production, but in the end decided that we could probably get away with it.
    Assuming it's early in the day and the guy it's not an heavy smoker, just needs a cigarette on particular occasions -e.g. just after a meal, a coffee...or a kiss!-maybe he hadn't had one just yet.

    by the way- nit-picking is good! I think it's a good quality for a screenwriter to have...and it tends to come with the territory ; )

  • #8

    Mark Morris (Friday, 08 March 2013 19:20)

    I thought this showed a lot of talent for writing and comedy from both Elena and Tim. Really well done. Nothing to fault here, just pure enjoyment!

  • #9

    Shaun Bond (Saturday, 09 March 2013 07:52)

    Enjoyed this. It's sound on a technical level and, speaking of sound, your audio was brilliant - its importance is often underestimated. Hats off to the whole team.
    The part where he whipped out that cigarette had me laughing, that must have been one GOOD kiss!

  • #10

    Max Spera (Saturday, 09 March 2013 18:27)

    Ciao Elena, well done!
    I found the idea very nice and very well done in terms of music, effects and lights, I think that the video is very attractive.

    The only thing I would have shot in a different way, it's the beginning, I would have used to shoot you from below, to give you more sense of being very tall. You can see that when he is by the door, the number it's almost at the same heights.

    All the best :)

  • #11

    Elena Dapelo (Saturday, 09 March 2013 21:42)

    Another fair comment. Thanks for the tip Max.

    We did try to keep the door number out of the frame, but there is always something one can improve on...and my first short has definitely been a learning experience!

    Thanks to both Mark and Shaun for their lovely words. I was very blessed with my lead actor and team, will pass on the compliments.

    Particularly pleased the short is considered good on a technical level,I do not have a technical background so I made a point to give attention to that aspect too (sound especially).

  • #12

    Andrewski (Tuesday, 12 March 2013 19:12)

    Love it.

  • #13

    Tim Pritchett (Wednesday, 21 August 2013 14:16)

    What a great short.
    The actor playing 'the guy' is clearly very talented.

    ... wait a minute, is that..

  • #14

    Natalie (Friday, 13 December 2013 23:20)

    Great Short! I hope they will screen it with the film next s.valentine :)